Howard Jacobson wins 2010 Man Booker Prize

Howard Jacobson

Howard Jacobson has emerged as the winner of the 2010 Man Booker Prize for Fiction for his book, The Finkler Question. He was announced winner at a dinner in London on Tuesday, 12th of October. With this win, The Finkler Question, published by Bloomsbury, becomes the first comic novel to win the Booker in its 42-year history.

Aside a cash prize of £50,000, Howard Jacobson can expect  increased sales and recognition worldwide. He also receives £2,500 and a designer-bound edition of the winning book.

The Finkler Question tells a story of love, loss and friendship. It explores the lives of three friends, Julian Treslove, Sam Finkler and Libor Sevick. It has been described as a book ‘full of wit, warmth, intelligence, human feeling and understanding’.

Jacobson was born in Manchester on 25 August 1942. A graduate of  English from Cambridge, he is the author of eleven novels, among which are Kalooki Nights and Who’s Sorry Now?. Both novels were longlisted for the Booker in 2006 and 2002 respectively. Other novels include The Mighty Walzer and The Act of Love.

The Booker Prize for Fiction was first awarded in 1969, and Man was announced as the sponsor of the prize in April 2002, with a five year extension agreed in 2006. The award is given each year to the best full-length English novel authored by a citizen of the Commonwealth of Nations, Ireland, or Zimbabwe, that was published in the past year.

Jacobson’s victory means he is the oldest winner since William Golding won in 1980, aged 69, for Rites of Passage.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s