Imaginary Conversations @ Ake by Chuma Nwokolo

Chuma Nwoloko, author of Diaries of a Dead African, and brilliant humorist, was at the Ake Arts and Book Festival. HE went with his camera, and he did not leave his wit behind. See below for a series of photos depicting the festival from another angle.

Warning: These pictures are real enough, but the conversations only occurred within the precincts of a writerly imagination.

Lola Shoneyin, Molara Wood, Lewis?, and a "CIA Agent".

Lola Shoneyin, Molara Wood, Lewis?, and a “CIA Agent”.

Richard Ali, Lola Shoneyin, Pius Adesanmi, Remi Raji.

Richard Ali, Lola Shoneyin, Pius Adesanmi, Remi Raji.

Toads for Supper!

Toads for Supper!

Presidential Plot!

“Oh come on, President Rem Raj, Your fellow writers will never sign up to a Third-Term-Agenda!”
“True, I don’t know what’s got into me. Must be this Abeokuta wine…”

Seriously. One Day I Will Also Write About This Airline ~ Binyavanga Wainaina

Seriously. One Day I Will Also Write About This Airline ~ Binyavanga Wainaina

"So I said to her: my name is Eghosa Imasuen, I am a Warripolitan, and she said to me: which kain Waripolitan? You dey drink red wine? Dem born you for New York Siri?"

“So I said to her: my name is Eghosa Imasuen, I am a Warripolitan, and she said to me: which kain Waripolitan? You dey drink red wine? Dem born you for New York Siri?”

Efe Paul Azino

Efe Paul Azino

Chuma Nwokolo & Ikhide Ikheloa.

Chuma Nwokolo & Ikhide Ikheloa.

Teju Cole & Tolu Ogunlesi

Teju Cole & Tolu Ogunlesi

Lolo Shoneyin, The Secret Lives of African Writers.

Lola Shoneyin, The Secret Lives of African Writers.

7 thoughts on “Imaginary Conversations @ Ake by Chuma Nwokolo

  1. Pingback: URGENT Call for submissions: Africa 39 Longlist | Su'eddie in Life n Literature

  2. Pingback: URGENT Call for submissions: Africa 39 Longlist | Sevhage Reviews

  3. Pingback: Imaginary Conversations @ Ake by Chuma Nwokolo – Y! Art

Leave a Reply

