Announcing the 2012 Farafina Trust Creative Writing Workshop

Farafina Trust will be holding a creative writing workshop in Lagos, organized by award-winning writer and creative director of Farafina Trust, Chimamanda Adichie, from August 14 to August 24 2012. The workshop is sponsored by Nigerian Breweries Plc. Guest writers, including the Caine Prize-winning Kenyan writer Binyavanga Wainaina, and Jeffery Allen, will co-teach the workshop alongside Adichie.

The workshop will take the form of a class. Participants will be assigned a wide range of reading exercises, as well as daily writing exercises. The aim of the workshop is to improve the craft of Nigerian writers and to encourage published and unpublished writers by bringing different perspectives to the art of storytelling. Participation is limited only to those who apply and are accepted.

Submission details:
All material must be pasted or written in the body of the e-mail. Please DO NOT include any attachments in your e-mail. Applications with attachments will be automatically disqualified. The deadline for submissions is June 25 2012. Only those accepted to the workshop will be notified by July 31 2012. Accommodation in Lagos will be provided for all accepted applicants who are able to attend for the ten-day duration of the workshop. A literary evening of readings, open to the public, will be held at the end of the workshop on August 24, 2012.

To apply, send an e-mail to Udonandu2012@gmail.com. Your e-mail subject should read: ‘Workshop Application.’

The body of the e-mail should contain the following:
1. Your name
2. Your address
3. A few sentences about yourself
4. A writing sample of between 200 and 800 words. The sample can be either fiction or non-fiction.

IMPORTANT UPDATE
The Farafina Trust Creative Writing Workshop is now open to writers from all nationalities. Please do not hesitate to send in your entries.

The deadline for submission has been extended to July 8 2012. 

127 thoughts on “Announcing the 2012 Farafina Trust Creative Writing Workshop

  1. Excellent beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your site, how can i subscribe for a blog
    web site? The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny
    bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear concept

  2. Hello,
    I was wondering, If for this year, I have a piece which I would like to submit that is longer than 800 words, could that be permitted? It’s a story which I feel best represents my writing, but I’m afraid that cutting it would not actually show the piece in its best light. It’s about 1,100 words, would that be okay?
    Thanks.

  3. Dear Farafina,

    I just want to say that I love all your books and your authors. I think you are an amazing publisher, and I really want to attend this lecture, to help improve my writing skills because at school, all they teach us is comprehension and analysis, when I just want to write. For the next workshop, will you accept young teenagers with parental permission? And when you sauy short stories, can it be a desciptive story or does it have to have a plot?

    • Hi Nwando,
      We will take your request into consideration, as long as you have parental permission and are selected for the workshop. It can be a descriptive story. More details when we make the call for this year’s entries.

      • Okay. Thank you very much. Just to say, I cannot wait for ‘Americanah’. My mum has already pre-ordered it. Go Chimamanda!

  4. I just feel that the requirement is a little too stringent. considering that it is termed “Creative writting workshop” is it supposed to allow the very beginers who cannot already produce excellent works to come and be menthored? or what good is it if for those who have gone far in writting sitting for trainings that supposedly should look at the bottom of the pyramids. ?
    I for one will like to be part, for the love I have for literature, but I am yet a starter.

  5. Fantastic goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous
    to and you’re just extremely fantastic. I really like what you’ve
    acquired here, really like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it sensible. I can not wait to read far more from you. This is really a tremendous website.

  6. I am highly encouraged by this initiative by chimamanda. Pls kindly notify me when the 2013 workshop starts. I don’t want to miss it. Thank you.

  7. I am so glad that the workshop takes place yearly. I sincerely hope I am selected for the next one. Kindly tell me when and what address I can submit my entry when it is time. Thanks.

  8. Ten days to the workshop and I‘m yet to come to terms with the fact that I wasn‘t selected. God knows I gave my best; He knows I got prepared for the workshop d very day I sent my entry; He knows I adhered to all d instructions. Even d Angels will affirm that my entry is good. Yes, would‘ve shown me d green light bcos my inspiration from above n it‘s unequled.
    What I don‘t understand is why Farafina failed to send me that 31th July mail that would‘ve made everything right. The simple truth is that they didn‘t go through my entry. Yes, I just figured it out!
    FARAFINA, if u claim to have gone through my entry, what‘s the title (Name: Ebede Justice Ekene). Just publish the title here n let d world see d honesty in u. Spell it out n I‘ll rest my case.
    For crying out loud, this ought to be WRITERS‘ WORKSHOP not some sort of town hall gathering where a man says a thing and turns around to do d opposite.

    • To Justice, Hector and all others in a similar situation: 

      Nigeria is a country of writers. In the same way people from Kenya can run marathons and people from Jamaica can run 100 metres, everywhere you go in Nigeria, you will meet many people who will tell you they are writers. 
      From this large number of writers, many of them who have studied writing for years at home and abroad, the workshop picks only 22. 
      For you to know this and say, “I can’t believe I wasn’t chosen,” is the same as saying you don’t believe it is possible that there are any twenty people in Africa that are better than you are. 

      The questions you should be asking instead is, can someone who is a professional look at my story and tell me what is wrong with it?  And how can I improve my writing so that I will get accepted next time?

      I understand many of us who are writers have grown up with friends and family members telling us we have good stories and we can write. But that sort of praise is what makes rejection so hard when you eventually try to become a professional. 

      If after all this, you still believe your story is so good that it should have been selected, then you are already a good writer and you don’t need the workshop to teach you anything more.

  9. My greetings farafina.. N mor feathers 2 ur wings 4 doing a gud job. Pliz i wnt 2 ask a few questns, firstly, i wnt 2 knw d criteria for selectin d entries 4 d workshop or did chimamanda do d selection herself coz i knw i did a gud story n also adherd 2 al d rules bt i wsnt pickd? Secondly, i cnt undastnd y u decided 2 extnd d duratn 4 sendin entries in d 1st place (i mean many of us didnt see necesry in dat d numba of entries sent already were far mor dan wt ws 2 b selectd, so why d extensn?) 3rdly, i wnt 2 knw y u decided 2 release d results b4 31st july as was statd earlier? In my opinion dis doesnt shw transparency at al(u shud stick 2 wt u say no mata wat..) , instead it mks us believ dat anythin is posibl in farafina jas lik any oda program organisd in Nigeria n run by Nigerians..lik i wont b surprise if d results actualy came out b4 d publicity. U can choose not 2 reply or even delete dis post if u wish. I wont b surprise. Thank u!

    • Hello Hector. In answer to your questions, the criteria for selection is the merit of the writing.

      Secondly, the deadline was extended because Farafina Trust ran a newspaper advert, to give an opportunity to writers who aren’t online to see the announcement. The advert was published late, and for that reason the deadline was moved forward.

      Thirdly, the selected writers were announced before July 31 because the entries were read and selection successfully concluded before that date. Note that our announcement had said that selected writers would be contacted BY July 31, which means on or before that date.

  10. Dear Farafina Group.
    The mouth that has just eaten a good dish tells by the nod of the head and smiles on the face. When i came to know about the Farafina workshop, which was by accident and a little of sheer curiosity, i was instantly filled with joy. I should thank you for organizing the workshop. I wish more of this type of workshop could take place. Thank you so much.

  11. Wow! I remember someone asking if selected participants could be notified before July 31 so they could make travel plans if need be and the reply to the comment was no because time was needed to go through all entries. And that was when the deadline was still June 25! Its hilarious that the deadline changed to July 8 and as at July 25, all those selected have already been notified! Go Farafina!!!

  12. Thanks Farafina for this great opportunity.

    Pls help reduce the tension in me. By telling me if my name is on list: Ihejirika Charles Uzoma.

    Plssss.

  13. Wish to verify my status regarding the workshop, kindly let me know if i’m selected.

  14. How do we certify the authenthicness of this workshop. It was said notification would commence from July 31 now the news is participant has been selected and notified. I regret wasting my precious time for this pathethic workshop. Is not transparent

  15. Can you please tell me here if I was chosen because someone hacked into my mail box and changed my password so I cannot access my account. Thanks

  16. Pls, in regards to shortlistment. Does it mean that all candidate that made it has been contacted? Asking as to know if I will have my mind off the workshop which I having harbouring in my soul for months now since I submited and have not being contacted

  17. Hi, Farafina group. From the information earlier given, it was stated that accepted applicants will be notified on July 31. How come some people are claiming to have been invited already.

    • Hello Justice. Please note that the selected writers were to be notified by July 31 (which means on or before that date). It was possible to conclude the selection process before July 31, and so the candidates have been notified.

  18. Please…i sent my write up on 8th but onchecking on the 9th i found out that i didnt enter the correct mail, so i had to resnd on the 9th hope i wont be disqualified for that.

  19. Thanks for the extension!
    But my entry was well above the word limit because I got the information from a wrong source & hence, short of details. Now, do I need to edit & resend?

  20. Thanks for the extension!
    But my entry was well above the word limit because I got the information late & short of details. Do I need to edit & resend?

  21. Is it just any fiction? I write tragic short stories, not fully detailed with regards to names and etc. Will it be acceptable?

  22. No reply coming from u to those of us who have submited. Tell us if we are sellected or not. Please do, cos i desperately wud like to attend.

  23. helo,i found out about this workshop a few days back through ur advert in punch newspaper.but d closing date in d advert is 8th july nt 25th june.is there an extension of d deadline or was it a mistake? i’m just about sending mine.

  24. are they any exception for entries a day late?I know the deadline was fixed but i got the notice today and am sending mine in now

  25. Despite network’s unprovoked hostilities i luckily succeeded in submitting mine at 11: 58 PM, 25-6-2012. But something seems to be the problem. After I sent it, i went to my sent mails to verify if it was really sent; i was sent but the story was duplicated(the second story started after the last fullstop of the first story).

  26. Please! Please! Please!
    I got the information through a frd vry late & short of details. Hence,my writing sample is a bit more than d required words. Pls., pardon me, it wasn’t intentional.
    I’v always wished 4 an opportunity like this…can’t afford missing it.
    I am confident that any part cut from d excerpt 2 arrive @ d required words num. won’t do much harm; & that’s 1 favour I hereby humbly ask of u.
    Pls., I look forward 2 hearing from u. Thnks.

  27. Hmmmm! This would be great an opportunity for me and a dream come through. . . God help me to be selected.

  28. Hope the time of submission will not affect one‘s chances. I just sent a story. I think it‘s left for me to pray and hope.

  29. Great job you guys are doing for Nigerian literature. Just noticed the email address, is it case sensitive(cause the ‘U’ is in caps.)?
    Regards,

  30. I can’t remember the requirement asking for the title of the story. So, I didn’t include the title in my entry. Does this disqualify me?

  31. Thanks to the organizers of this workshop for creating this opportunity. I know i will participate.

  32. For those of us applying from outside Nigeria who, if accepted, would need to buy a plane ticket, only hearing on 31 July leaves just two weeks to secure a not-too-costly ticket. Is there any way the inform date can be made even a week sooner?

  33. I love that this opportuinty is within reach and open to all. Big ups to Chimamanda and the entire Farafina crew.

    • Hello Emmanuel. Please note that the application is still open, and so you cannot get a response now. Successful applicants will be contacted and notified by July 31.

  34. It is really nice to have people of like minds come together to share ideas. A workshop organized by Chimamanda Adichie, who I call the voice of African people, God knows I would give the last coin in my pocket to be in that workshop. However, the problem is that I don’t have the power to decide that.
    Farafina, please I will like to know what you are looking for in a story which, I believe, is the major criterion to being invited. Also, what number of participants are you planning on inviting? Have a great day, as I look fore#ward to your reply..

  35. Pingback: Web Finds: B&W Photography, “Beasts…” Trailer, & More « Muse & Words

  36. Pls, is it advisable to send the writing sample and one’s personal data like name, address, etc at the same time and in the same body of the email? Thanks

  37. When you say a sample of your writing does it mean any sample or must any writing submitted be complete and able to stand on its own?

  38. Ive always to attend this workshop but never got the chance. and now when i think i will finally get the chance i find my final exams ve been fixed for the period this year‘s own is holding. ‘so i have a question-why not hold it in september now?‘(believing my name will make it to the shortlist of participants)

  39. Please, should title of the material included or not?

    It was not specified.

    Thanks for your anticipated response.

  40. Honestly, i can’t wait to participate.

    I wish i knew such workshop do exist in Nigeria but today.

    Thanks to Chimamanda

Leave a Reply

